Trinity Trails District, BSA

Fort Worth, Texas, USA

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Website and OlanNet

Your District Committee has implemented a new system to keep all Scouting Units and their families informed about what is happening in the great Trinity Trails District. In honor of Olan Watkins, whose original OlanNet has kept us informed for the last decade or so, we have named the new system OlanNet 2.0.

Articles and documents are now written to the Trinity Trails website. Unit leaders for each Scouting Unit (Troop, Pack, Crew) will be granted website permission to submit articles. District Committee members and Commissioners can write articles, such as for Camping or Advancement.

Twice weekly (currently Mondays and Thursdays), the website will automatically send an email message to the OlanNet 2.0 email group, listing the titles and authors of articles that were posted in the previous 7 days. These emails also provide direct (clickable) links to the full articles on the website. Sending links instead of the actual stories keeps the email messages small and allows people to find the full article on the website, rather than looking back through old emails to find important information.

This new system also prevents the "accidental reply to all" feature that existed in the Yahoo! Group. To join the OlanNet 2.0 group, send an email request to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it  with a very brief note explaining who you are (e.g., I am the parent of a Scout in Pack 93).

A PowerPoint presentation (saved as .pdf) regarding the philosophy of the website and OlanNet 2.0 may be found at this link.

Douglas Abernathy
Trinity Trails District Webmaster

Last Updated on Sunday, 30 August 2015 09:02

Page 5 of 5

Trinity Trails Contacts

Jason Buescher,
Field Director

Thurman Schweitzer,
District Chair

Steve Baker,

George Muckleroy,

Kevin McClean,

David Brynell,
District Commissioner

James Horton,
Cub Roundtable Commissioner

Paul Taylor,
Scout Roundtable Commissioner

George Muckleroy,
Nominating Committee Chair

Montenique Littlejohn,

Carll Martinez,
Family Friends of Scouting

Blake Leva,
Popcorn Kernel

Joel Lewallen,
Camp Cards

Kevin McClean,

Kevin Ferguson,

Mike Cormier,

Chris Gonzales,
Day Camp

Brian Cook,

Chris Gonzales,
Pinewood Derby

Steve Beyt,

David Sherier,
OA Advisor

Bill Peterson,
Merit Badges

Douglas Abernathy,