Trinity Trails District, BSA

Fort Worth, Texas, USA

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Website and OlanNet

Your District Committee has implemented a new system to keep all Scouting Units and their families informed about what is happening in the great Trinity Trails District. In honor of Olan Watkins, whose original OlanNet has kept us informed for the last decade or so, we have named the new system OlanNet 2.0.

Articles and documents are now written to the Trinity Trails website. Unit leaders for each Scouting Unit (Troop, Pack, Crew) will be granted website permission to submit articles. District Committee members and Commissioners can write articles, such as for Camping or Advancement.

Twice weekly (currently Mondays and Thursdays), the website will automatically send an email message to the OlanNet 2.0 email group, listing the titles and authors of articles that were posted in the previous 7 days. These emails also provide direct (clickable) links to the full articles on the website. Sending links instead of the actual stories keeps the email messages small and allows people to find the full article on the website, rather than looking back through old emails to find important information.

This new system also prevents the "accidental reply to all" feature that existed in the Yahoo! Group. To join the OlanNet 2.0 group, send an email request to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it  with a very brief note explaining who you are (e.g., I am the parent of a Scout in Pack 93).

A PowerPoint presentation (saved as .pdf) regarding the philosophy of the website and OlanNet 2.0 may be found at this link.

Douglas Abernathy
Trinity Trails District Webmaster

Last Updated on Sunday, 30 August 2015 09:02
 


Page 7 of 7

Trinity Trails Contacts

David Rico,
Field Director – Western Service Area
david.rico@scouting.org


Steve Baker,
District Chair (Acting)
chair@trinitytrails.net
Jason Kelly,
District Commissioner
commish@trinitytrails.net
Fritz Quast,
Vice-Chair
vice-chair1@trinitytrails.net
Kevin McClean,
Vice-Chair
vice-chair2@trinitytrails.net
James Horton,
Cub Roundtable Commissioner
cub-rt@trinitytrails.net
David Brynell,
Scout Roundtable Commissioner
scout-rt@trinitytrails.net
Cory Tallman,
Activities
activities@trinitytrails.net
Steve Beyt,
Advancement
advancement@trinitytrails.net
Joel Lewallen,
Camp Cards
campcards@trinitytrails.net
Blake Leva,
Popcorn
popcorn@trinitytrails.net
Kevin McCormick,
Nominating Committee Chair
nominating@trinitytrails.net
James Tinker,
Venturing Round Table Chair
venture-rt@trinitytrails.net
Open,
Webelos to Scout Transition Coordinator
webelos2scout@trinitytrails.net
Sayi Prasad Gottumukkala,
Social Media Coordinator
social@trinitytrails.net
Open,
Camping
camping@trinitytrails.net
Carll Martinez,
Family Friends of Scouting
ffos@trinitytrails.net
Mike Cormier,
Camporee
camporee@trinitytrails.net
Brent Clark,
OA Advisor
oa-advisor@trinitytrails.net
Open,
Training
training@trinitytrails.net
Gaby Pilonieta,
District Awards
awards@trinitytrails.net
Bill Peterson,
Merit Badges
meritbadge@trinitytrails.net
Douglas Abernathy,
Webmaster
webmaster@trinitytrails.net