Trinity Trails District, BSA

Fort Worth, Texas, USA

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Spring 2018 Wilderness First Aid Courses

Spring 2018 Wilderness First Aid Courses


What is WFA?

Wilderness first aid is the specific discipline of First Aid which relates to care in remote areas, where emergency medical services will be difficult to obtain or will take a long time to arrive.
Wilderness First Aid is a two-day, 16 hour class designed for trip leaders, camp counselors, and outdoor enthusiasts. A current CPR certification is a pre-requisite, however no other previous experience is required. This emergency response training includes patient assessment, musculoskeletal and soft tissue injuries, splinting, and a variety of other topics.
Providing primary care in bad weather with non-standard equipment and coping with long term care and emergency response: Wilderness First Aid places these issues first and foremost.
Lecture and discussion, practical exercise and outdoor scenarios help students gain confidence, and encourage the development of critical decision making skills.

CPR/AED Certification Training is offered on the preceding Friday night if needed.

Prerequisites:
Current CPR/AED certification required for WFA; minimum of 14 years old
Location:
St. Matthew’s Lutheran Church
(corner of Granbury Road and Welch, just south of I-20)
5709 Wedgwood Drive
Fort Worth, Texas 76133
Course Format and Cost:
$35   CPR only
$95   WFA only
$130  CPR & WFA
Fri 7pm-10pm
Sat 8am-5:30pm, Sun 8am-4pm (16 hours)
(Note:  April course is a two-Saturday format)
Course Schedule:
  • CPR  Mar 16th
  • CPR  Apr 13th
  • CPR  May 18th
  • CPR  Jun 1st
  • WFA  Mar 17th/18th
  • WFA  Apr 14th & 21st
  • WFA  May 19th/20th
  • WFA  Jun 2nd/3rd
Click Here for the Flyer For Registering
 

In-Person Youth Protection Training (YPT)

YOUTH PROTECTION TRAINING

IN-PERSON CLASSES

BSA requires Youth Protection Training for all registered adults.  The National BSA requirements for all activities are here.  The State of Texas also has additional requirements for adults at day camps and resident camps / summer camps.

All adults at summer camps and day camps in the state of Texas are required to take the Texas-approved BSA in-person YPT Course.  YPT cards from the BSA online course may not be used for summer camps and day camps in the state of Texas.  However, YPT cards from the the in-person Texas-approved YPT Course are good for all BSA YPT requirements.  The YPT course must be taken within two years of attending camp.  (Note that this state requirement applies only to summer camps and day camps in the state of Texas and does NOT apply to unit weekend camping.)

To take the online Youth Protection training go to My.Scouting.org and create an account.  (If you do not have a My.Scouting account, you can create one.)  You do not have to be a registered member or have a member ID to take Youth Protection training.

For Trinity Trails District, the available classes are listed below. Registration is not required – just show up!  Please bring a pen and your BSA identification number if you know it.

3/5/18

6pm – 7pm

Arborlawn SAM Building, 4917 Briarhaven Rd, Fort Worth, TX 76109

4/2/18

6pm – 7pm

Arborlawn SAM Building, 4917 Briarhaven Rd, Fort Worth, TX 76109

5/15/18

7pm – 8pm

Westminster Presbyterian Church, 7001 Trail Lake Dr, Fort Worth, TX 76133

6/4/18

6pm – 7pm

Arborlawn SAM Building, 4917 Briarhaven Rd, Fort Worth, TX 76109

 

 

Wild West Camporee

Yippee Ki Yay!!

The Wild West Camporee is almost here!

 

Please see the flyer for more information.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 15 March 2017 09:58
 


Page 2 of 5

Trinity Trails Contacts

Jason Buescher,
Field Director
field.director@trinitytrails.net


Thurman Schweitzer,
District Chair
chair@trinitytrails.net


Steve Baker,
Vice-Chair
vice-chair1@trinitytrails.net


George Muckleroy,
Vice-Chair
vice-chair2@trinitytrails.net


Kevin McClean,
Vice-Chair
vice-chair3@trinitytrails.net


David Brynell,
District Commissioner
commish@trinitytrails.net


James Horton,
Cub Roundtable Commissioner
cub-rt@trinitytrails.net


Paul Taylor,
Scout Roundtable Commissioner
scout-rt@trinitytrails.net


George Muckleroy,
Nominating Committee Chair
nominating@trinitytrails.net


Montenique Littlejohn,
Membership
membership@trinitytrails.net


Carll Martinez,
Family Friends of Scouting
ffos@trinitytrails.net


Blake Leva,
Popcorn Kernel
popcorn@trinitytrails.net


Joel Lewallen,
Camp Cards
campcards@trinitytrails.net


Kevin McClean,
Program
program@trinitytrails.net


Kevin Ferguson,
Camping
camping@trinitytrails.net


Mike Cormier,
Activities
activities@trinitytrails.net


Chris Gonzales,
Day Camp
daycamp@trinitytrails.net


Brian Cook,
Fishing
fishing@trinitytrails.net


Chris Gonzales,
Pinewood Derby
pinewood@trinitytrails.net


Steve Beyt,
Advancement
advancement@trinitytrails.net


David Sherier,
OA Advisor
oa-advisor@trinitytrails.net


Bill Peterson,
Merit Badges
meritbadge@trinitytrails.net


Douglas Abernathy,
Webmaster
webmaster@trinitytrails.net