Trinity Trails District, BSA

Fort Worth, Texas, USA

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Trinity Trails District Boy Scout Camporee April 7-9, 2017

Trinity Trails District Boy Scout Camporee will be the weekend of April 8th.  Theme will be Wild Wild West.  It will be out in Cleburne again at the Unimin property.

Activities Committee is looking for ideas for camporee themed activities.

There will be a Stage Coach Race.  The wagon should hold 2 Scouts with 3 Scouts for horsepower pulling and may be pre-built before Camporee.

Other activities include skillet or Dutch Oven cook off.  The evening will include OA tapout and a small flag retirement ceremony.

Camporee POC is Mike Cormier ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it )

Last Updated on Saturday, 28 January 2017 16:30
 

Longhorn Council Activities Newsletter - Feb 2017 Edition

Download the February edition of the Longhorn Council The Outdoor Link newsletter here

Last Updated on Wednesday, 25 January 2017 07:05
 

Friends of Scouting 2017 Campaign Unit Incentives

LONGHORN COUNCIL FRIENDS OF SCOUTING UNIT CAMPAIGNS (FOS)

Each scouting unit is asked to conduct a FOS campaign to explain the services of the Longhorn Council to parents and leaders and to encourage them to participate in supporting the costs of the annual operation.   Each Unit conducting and hitting their GOAL earns an incentive from the Council.

Contact Trinity Trails District Family Friends of Scouting Chair Carll Martinez for more information about your unit's FOS goal.

NEW NEW NEW  FOS APPROACH FOR 2017 CAMPAIGNS - The One Month Campaign!!!

This year each unit is asked to ‘run’ their campaign in the month of February, which is Scout Anniversary month.

Also, units that historically have done a successful event November or December of the previous year, may continue.  Please work with your District volunteers and professionals to coordinate the campaign approach and timing.

NEW this year also is the option and opportunity to conduct the FOS campaign electronically.  The Council will provide each unit choosing this option with a website that is mobile compatible, to electronically conduct your units’ campaign.  In addition, units will receive electronic templates for information, educational resources, and communications that can be customized to easily communicate to your parents.

Unit Incentives

Incentive for completing the Friends of Scouting Campaign and Hitting the FOS Goal.

  • Boy Scout Troops receive Free Rank Advancements (all the cloth rank advancements, merit badges, and pocket certificates).
  • Cub Scout Packs may choose between a) Cub Scout rank cloth patches, belt loops, cyber chip patch, rank cards, and Webelos activity pins, or b) a 50% discount to either the Cub Family Adventures in April or the Fall Festivals in October 2017.
  • Venture Crews receive $100 in Scout Shop gift card.

Incentive Rules

1. Available from January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017 for Free Rank Advancement or the two opportunities for a Cubs Scout camping discount.

2. To qualify the Unit must:

  • Turn in a Unit Declaration Form at the time of December Rechartering, or at the designated meeting.
  • Identify the Unit Champion as the Point of Contact for this campaign.
  • Complete your goal and turn in related materials by March 15, 2017.
  • Turn in a Goal Completion Form with pledge cards by March 15, 2017.

3. Units meeting their FOS Goals will be recognized at the LHC Annual Recognition Banquet on April 25th.

DOWNLOAD UNIT INCENTIVES DOCUMENT

More information, brochures, and videos about Friends of Scouting Campaign 2017 can be found on the Longhorn Council Web Site:

http://www.longhorncouncil.org/unit-resources/friends-of-scouting/

Last Updated on Saturday, 21 January 2017 20:28
 


Page 3 of 8

Trinity Trails Contacts

David Rico,
Field Director – Western Service Area
david.rico@scouting.org


Steve Baker,
District Chair (Acting)
chair@trinitytrails.net
Jason Kelly,
District Commissioner
commish@trinitytrails.net
Fritz Quast,
Vice-Chair
vice-chair1@trinitytrails.net
Kevin McClean,
Vice-Chair
vice-chair2@trinitytrails.net
James Horton,
Cub Roundtable Commissioner
cub-rt@trinitytrails.net
David Brynell,
Scout Roundtable Commissioner
scout-rt@trinitytrails.net
Cory Tallman,
Activities
activities@trinitytrails.net
Steve Beyt,
Advancement
advancement@trinitytrails.net
Joel Lewallen,
Camp Cards
campcards@trinitytrails.net
Blake Leva,
Popcorn
popcorn@trinitytrails.net
Kevin McCormick,
Nominating Committee Chair
nominating@trinitytrails.net
James Tinker,
Venturing Round Table Chair
venture-rt@trinitytrails.net
Open,
Webelos to Scout Transition Coordinator
webelos2scout@trinitytrails.net
Sayi Prasad Gottumukkala,
Social Media Coordinator
social@trinitytrails.net
Open,
Camping
camping@trinitytrails.net
Carll Martinez,
Family Friends of Scouting
ffos@trinitytrails.net
Mike Cormier,
Camporee
camporee@trinitytrails.net
Brent Clark,
OA Advisor
oa-advisor@trinitytrails.net
Open,
Training
training@trinitytrails.net
Gaby Pilonieta,
District Awards
awards@trinitytrails.net
Bill Peterson,
Merit Badges
meritbadge@trinitytrails.net
Douglas Abernathy,
Webmaster
webmaster@trinitytrails.net